Each of our nearly 60 chapters are affiliated with one of  our four councils. The councils serve as the governing body for its member groups. Under the leadership of a group of members elected to serve as the executive board, each council hosts regular meetings to conduct the business of the council, promotes strong relationships and partnerships amongst their council and within the entire community, and works to better their council and membership experience through programming, education, and accountability.

For contact information for our council executive boards, please scroll to the bottom of this page.

Interfraternity Council (IFC)

The IFC is the governing body for the majority of North American Interfraternity Conference (NIC) fraternities on the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus. Comprised of men’s fraternities, the IFC is a self-governing institution at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, seeking to develop and maintain fraternity life and interfraternal relations by promoting unity and growth of its member organizations.  IFC organizations include:

Acacia, Alpha Delta Phi, Alpha Gamma Rho, Alpha Sigma Phi, Beta Theta Pi, Chi Psi, Delta Chi, Delta Sigma Phi, Delta Tau Delta, Delta Theta Sigma, Delta Upsilon, Phi Delta Theta, Phi Gamma Delta, Phi Kappa Sigma, Phi Kappa Tau, Phi Kappa Theta, Pi Kappa Alpha, Pi Kappa Phi, Pi Lambda Phi, Psi Upsilon, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Sigma Phi, Sigma Pi, Sigma Tau Gamma, Tau Kappa Epsilon, Theta Delta Chi, Triangle, Zeta Beta Tau

Multicultural Greek Council (MGC)

The MGC is the governing body for multicultural and multiethnic fraternities and sororities. The mission of the Multicultural Greek Council shall be to foster a unified multicultural community, to promote scholarship, service, respect, camaraderie and cultural awareness, while creating an inclusive and supportive network for future growth and development. MGC organizations include:

alpha Kappa Delta Phi International Sorority, Inc., Alpha Pi Omega Sorority, Inc., Chi Sigma Tau Fraternity, Inc., Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc., Gamma Alpha Omega Sorority, Inc., Kappa Delta Chi Sorority, Inc., Lambda Phi Epsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority, Inc., Lambda Theta Phi Latin Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Lambda Beta International Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc., Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority, Inc.

Photo of three NPHC council officers and advisor Jamila

National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)

The NPHC is the governing body of the traditionally African American fraternities and sororities, also known as the Divine Nine. NPHC coordinates activities to develop leadership skills, positive relationships, and citizenship through community service and outreach.  Organizations that are part of NPHC embrace the continuance of social actions, political empowerment and economic development. NPHC organizations include:

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Panhellenic Association (PHA)

The PHA is the governing body for fourteen women’s organizations at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.  PHA is responsible for organizing programing and educational  opportunities, communication efforts, and for supporting the Panhellenic community.  PHA organizes Formal Recruitment, held over the first weekends of the fall semester, during which a mutual selection process introduces potential new members to the sorority community. Panhellenic women proudly strive for individual excellence in scholarship and leadership, and promote community building through citizenship and fellowship. PHA organizations include:

Alpha Chi Omega, Alpha Epsilon Phi, Alpha Omega Epsilon*, Alpha Phi, Alpha Xi Delta, Chi Omega, Gamma Phi Beta, Delta Delta Delta, Delta Gamma, Kappa Alpha Theta, Kappa Kappa Gamma, Pi Beta Phi, Sigma Alpha Omega*, Sigma Delta Tau

*These chapters are associate chapters of PHA.

Photo of the 11 Panhellenic Executive Board officers lined up in front of Lake Mendota smiling at the camera.

President: Liam McLean

VP Judicial Affairs: Hiro Ura

VP Member Education: Cal Floyd

VP Operations: Joe Xiang

VP Risk Management: Dan Maloney

VP Recruitment: Justin Neustaetter

VP Service: Andrew Taylor

VP Programming: Ryan Rezania

VP Scholarship: Alex Henoch

VP Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion: Parham Shiraz

President: Gisselle Rocha

Vice President: Marlen Gongora

Secretary: Murph Murphy

Parliamentarian: Esmeralda Ramirez

Treasurer: Jason Bai

Safety & Wellness Chair: Lazaro Vergara

Academic Chair: Alejandra Aponte & Megan Wu

Service Chair: TBA

Social Chair: Huong Nguyen

Public Relations: Julian Martinez

President: Zee Akanni

Vice President: Brandon Dawning

Treasurer: Elias Sobah

Secretary: Tierra Higgins

Community Service Chair: TBA

Parliamentarian: TBA

President: Chirawan Murphy

VP Judicial Affiars: Erin McCoy

VP External:Caitlin Guerts

VP Scholarship: Annabel Bochat

VP Risk Management: Katie Sellers

VP Recruitment: Liza Hodge & Jordan Levy

VP Civic Engagement: Madeline Spaulding

VP Internal: Gina Musso

VP Finance and Operations: Cat Jacobs

VP Public Relations: Taylor Heimert